The Northeast Deli

24 Dec

My husband and I are in CT visiting our family (my in-laws). I miss the northeast. I miss the snow and the crisp cold air. Not that it doesn’t get cold in the south. But the north has a different kind of cold. Now, I don’t miss how long the snow and the cold weather would stick around. I miss the people. Especially the ones who are direct, opinionated and feel the need to tell you how you should live your life, they remind me of my family. The most I miss is the northeast deli. Something so trivial and everyday to a northeasterner, yet it is something so crucial, you don’t realize it until it is not readily available to you. For example, the chicken cutlet is one of the most popular proteins in a deli sandwich. Most of the time the sandwich will include the chicken, tomato, lettuce and mayo with a white cheese or cheddar cheese, depending on which part of town the deli is located. You might be thinking, what is so special about that? Ah, my friend, you will have to experience this delight. But I can tell you it will change your life. Just be prepared. From the crusty warm homemade bread, to the perfectly pan fried breaded cutlet, the crispy tomato and lettuce, oozing melted white cheese, and just the right amount of mayo, you are in for a magical taste bud experience.

I think I mentioned before, breakfast is one my favorite meals, that I don’t get to eat often. The breakfast sandwich from the deli is what I miss most.

Ladies and Gents – I give you the classic bacon, egg and cheese sandwich.

Look at that kaiser roll. It makes all the difference.

The white cheese, crispy bacon, and soft scrambled eggs are the perfect combination for this sandwich. oh – and a little ketchup brings it all together.

We also treated ourselves to a cruller.

We were on the train headed to Manhattan and I am sure the people around us thought I was crazy. Taking so many photos of our food. But how can you resist? This is something worth documenting.

Crispy sweet crust on the outside.

Fluffy tender cake on the inside. Tastes like something that came out of the heaven bake shop.

Go out and get yourself a heavenly treat. Whatever that may be to you and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

